• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Best Weld Options

icemanup

Loc.
Ripley WV
Hey guys I'm getting ready to start replacing the floors in my 72 and was wondering what is the best way to weld them in. I'm also gonna be replacing the rear wheel tubs along with the filler tube panels as well. I was looking at a spot welder from eastwood part#19089, looks like it might be the way to go, any one here have one or ever used one. I have a mig but I also have access to to an ARC. Any input or suggestions. I am not a welding pro, just a novice.
Appreciate any advice.
Thanks, Iceman

bax

Contributor
Old Member
spot welders are good but most of the welds you wont be able to do with a spot welder. Sure spot welding around the edges but not in the middle of a floor panel. Plug welding with a mig or tig works good. Stick welders are out of the picture, not good for thin panels.

bax

trailpsycho

Bronco Guru