• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Could someone help me out please with a timing issue!!!!!!!!

evan61977

Loc.
Philadelphia
I have just gotten a 66 bronco with a 351c and love it. However, i every time i drive the thing i smell like exhaust.......bad. I know the truck is running way to ritch. Problem is that the distributor is alluminum and is stuck. I sprayed some wd-40 down it and will drive it around to se if i can break it free. Any ideas on this? Also i am a novice to working on engines. Other than breaks and stuff i am clueless. Can someone help lay out for me where and how to use a timing light? I know i can just rotate the distributor and listen to try to hear when its running a bit smoother but i would like to make sure with a timing light that it is exactly where it should be?

Thanks to anyone that can and will help me!
Evan

Jeepster

Bronco Guru
Timing light is hooked up to the #1 cyl plug. Clip the lead around the #1 plug wire. clean off the harmonic balancer and pointer so you can see the timing marks. white chalk on the marks helps. You'll have to get the dist free so you can rotate. maybe a little heat at the base of the dist/intake will help......careful there.

BG's 68 Bronco

Is it black smoke coming out of your exhaust?

You might just need to adjust your carb, as long as it's not Fuel injected!

Skuzzlebutt

PhD, Dr. of Broncology
Loc.
Honeymoon Bay
A soft faced hammer would be useful for loosening the dist.