• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Custom radio build thread

Gweiner

Loc.
Charlotte
Newbie here attempting to do my own custom radio install. Nothing fancy, just planning to install a kenwood detachable face deck and some speakers. I did some research on this site (love CB.com) and got some good ideas as I did not want to cut my dash and I am trying to restore this bronco to as close to stock as possible, with only some slight mods to make it more drivable.

So here are a few first pics of what I started. I made a cardboard template and mocked up a radio box to fit under the dash. I then cut out my pieces with 1/2" MDF and screwed/Glued together. Will cover in raptor liner or something similar when finished.

First question - looking to mount a pair of 6 1/2" Polk marine grade speakers somewhere, but can"t decide where to do it. Again, don't want to cut the body anywhere. Any suggestions? Thinking of making a pair of boxes to squeeze up over the rear wheel wells but running tight on space with roll bar and the gas overflow bottle on the drivers side. (See radio 4 pic)

Appreciate any photos, suggestions, etc.

Will post more as I make progress.

Attachments

• Radio 1.jpg
    Radio 1.jpg
    124.7 KB · Views: 115
  • radio 2.jpg
    radio 2.jpg
    145.2 KB · Views: 104
  • radio 3.jpg
    radio 3.jpg
    162.5 KB · Views: 98
  • radio 4.jpg
    radio 4.jpg
    108.8 KB · Views: 104

bronconut73

Bronco Guru
What about a Tuffy security console or the "knock offs" (cheaper). They have that little slot you can install a stereo in. Then it is locked up and out of site, keeping that stock look. You can easily unbolt the console for that completely stock look.