• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Door hinge pins

bknbronco

Bronco Guru
Loc.
North Metro, MN
Leave them in!!!!! They suck to get out. i had 5 hinges and only got 4 pins out. I had them off the doors and on a solid metal surface. I used a 5lb or 10lb hammer and had my dad hold a punch. (im a carpenter by trade so he wasnt scared to hold the punch). you have to heat them up and pound the shit out of them! I bent 3 punches trying to get them out!

Why are you taking them out? Dont try to do the rebuild kit! I tried and it was the biggest waste of 20 bucks ever! Ended up throwing them out after rebuilding and painting. I wasted like 40 bucks and probably 6 hours trying to rebuild mine. In the end i threw them away and bought the stainless lift off hinges. The lift off hinges are very spendy but they are ausome!!!!!!!!!

barronj

Bronco Guru
I drilled the top off & drove them out the bottom w/ a punch & a 3# hammer. I would've used my air-chisel, but the tips/points were just too broad.

I will say that, if I had the opportunity to do it again, I would probably just buy new ones from a vendor.

I used a drill press and a bit.
I was going to do the job myself, but after I'd bought $24 worth of special drill bits, my drill press head unit had the slightest wobble to it (hadn't noticed before), and I couldn't bare to do it that way