• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Door repair - welding advice?

Jaybr

Contributor
This is my weekly question/plea for help

The top seam above window on my drivers door is broken, and as you can see someone did a shoddy repair at some point.
4ad1eae6527146de8e7930141b13c9b0.jpg

I’ve cleaned it up and used a file to get edges straightened out

3aff27af2329291f1f5393b51b356497.jpg

And used a ratchet strap to pull it together and cleaned it some more

f9fc9b4b7213ef9ac47bd9f594fbd205.jpg

I’m a novice welder and have some questions.

Does this look ready to weld or shoul I sand it smoother?

I’m using a Lincoln 180 mig with .23 wire, any suggestions on the settings? I’m thinking lowest voltage (A) and medium (4-5) wire speed but don’t want to burn through.

This will not necessarily be a permanent repair as the truck is eventually going to Tom at Lick Creek for all of the body work. I just don’t want to drive it around with the seam apart.

So should I just throw a couple tacks on it?

Clean up the outside and tack that too?

Thanks

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Crush

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
Greenbottom, WV
someone has cut those window frames off at the wing glass ans the base at the back of the door to have a frameless door with wing glasses. it looks good i did mine that way but then someone tried to weld yours back on. you may need to leave a small gap to fill. about the width of a sawsall blade to keep the frame within tolerances

EPB72

Contributor
Loc.
Pleasant Hill, CA