• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

ending an auction early on eBay?

ALben

Loc.
Tuscaloosa, AL
I have never bought or sold a vehicle on eBay before. I have a Bronco on there now w/ about 4 days left on auction. It met reserve day before yesterday. I put local sale on hold at that time to see how the auction came out. The guy that met reserve just contacted me asking me if I may want to end the auction early. Being a newbie I don't know correct etiquette in this situation. Am I shady or under-handed if I offer a price and side deal w/ the guy? Ebay says you can end an auction at least 12 hours prior to end, but the "legal thing" and the "right thing" to do are sometimes different. Need advise. Thanks.

ochretoe

Loc.
Millington
Its your auction, you can do what you want. If the guy is serious and you are happy with the money take it and end the hassle. You may want to ad $500 or so to see if he'll take it. If you think the bronco will go for a lot more hold off or set a "buy it now" price. Lots of options, just get what you want first then worry about extras.
Steve

DebosDave'72

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Bozeman, MT