• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Floorpan welding help needed

NashBronco

Loc.
Flowood, MS
So I have screwed in new floor pans (from TBP) and now I need to plug weld them in. I am new to welding and have a Miller 211. I am running gas and using .23 wire.

I have been practicing my plug welding on clean scrap pieces and keep ending up with “undercut” on the edges of my welds. The scrap pieces are 16 gauge and I have set my welder anywhere between 3.25-4.5 and wire speed around 40-50. My welds look better when I have the amps set in the 4.25 range but they still have undercut on the sides. Am I moving too slow? Amps to low/high? Wire speed issue?

Any advice on how to fix an undercut issue? Happy to post pictures of that helps.

Thanks, Houston

Apogee

Contributor
Bronco Guru
What are you using for cover gas? Straight CO2 or 75/25 CO2/Argon mix? 100% C02 tends to provide a bit more penetration as it runs hotter than the mix.