• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Found my source of rattle! + leaf spring clip questions

Raven Tooth

Loc.
Sunnyvale, CA
Well, the loudest rattle. It's these leaf spring clips, which aren't very tight. I have no experience with leaf springs and don't even really understand what these clips are supposed to do. I tried tightening them up by hitting them with a hammer/ prying with a screw driver, but they are still rattling a bit.

How much are these needed? If I got new ones would they maybe be tighter?

How about these: http://performanceparts.com/part/Mr-Gasket/1293

Looks like I could tighten these right up but I'm not sure if they're meant to do the same thing.

Bundy

Bronco Guru
Do you have pics of your current leaf springs? I am pretty sure the clips are for alignment of the individual leaves?

Mark in Memphis

Leaf springs need to slide past each other when the spring bends. If you clamp your springs together tightly they won't slide past each other as easily and will be much stiffer. For example, if you clamp two leafs together they will be 4 times stiffer than if they can slide past. If you clamp three leafs together they will be 9 times stiffer than if the can slide past. The advertisement you posted doesn't say that specifically, but that's what reduces axle wrap.

OP
OP
Raven Tooth

Raven Tooth

Loc.
Sunnyvale, CA
431216_10150585883285988_649500987_9367790_895680953_n.jpg