• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

I need your input on some items.

oldskool

Loc.
Denver
Hi Guys,

I need your input on some items, I'm thinking about buying for my rebuild. Tell me if which ones or best or waste of time.

1, Shorty Headers or Pro flow Headers
2, Stock Oil Pan or New rear Sump Oil Pan (7 Quarts)

Thanks

PS: Check out my Gallery. It is the start of my build. Take a close look at frame of it side you can see Iron Cross. I'm a newbie so I can't post any pic's. But I will continue to add pics in my Gallery.

Last edited:

broncnaz

Bronco Guru
Proflow headers longer tubes make more torque. Most Shroty headers are not much better than stock manifolds.
While more oil is good there really nothing wrong with the stock pan carbed engines usually need a oil change right around 3000 miles anyways. Just a ends up having to buy more oil.
Instead of a oil pan use the money to get the ceramic coated headers.

73stallion

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Eugene, OR
the bigger pan should also be baffled inside, which is nice for off camber situations.

shorty headers tend to build a lot more heat at the lower collector than long tubes (according to my muffler guy), so if you get shortys get ball flange collectors or slip fit (i don't care for slip fit, but....).

jspurl3

Loc.
Baton Rouge, LA
Doesnt matter if your a newbie or not you have to become a contributor to post pics in a thread. Its like $12 a year. I thought the same thing when I joined.

Welcome to the site!

markperry

Bronco Guru