• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

New Chassis/Body

Winesalot

So I hope this topic does not offend the eb purist.

I am interested in a buying an early bronco. My family had one when I was learning to drive then I had one when I was first out on my own back in the late 80's. Now I'm in my 50's with some money in my pocket and I'd like to have an early bronco again. However, I am not interested in buying a project. My first thought was to pony up the cash and buy a fully restored machine with all or nearly all the features I want. I am a solid mechanic and have all the needed tools but time and desire to go through the restoration process are both limited.

While doing research on the purchase the idea of buying a new rolling chassis and aftermarket body has been discussed. I am interested a daily driver street machine. I do not need massive power or serious off-road capabilities. I am more interested in easy starting, adequate power, an automatic transmission, 4wd for snow days, and low maintenance/reliability.

Does anyone have good recommendations on how to go about this? Good Chassis builders? Good body suppliers? I'd love to hear your thoughts on this idea in general.

Cheers!

Alan

reamer

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Wild horses has a "Bronco in a box" its all body panels on a pallet. No directions or dimensions, just a crap load of sheet metal parts, YOU must weld, cut, re-shape and swear some but it's worth it if you cant find a decent tub...But first you need to find a frame.

Attachments

• Crate.jpg
    Crate.jpg
    83.2 KB · Views: 102
  • driver build.jpg
    driver build.jpg
    77.9 KB · Views: 95
  • Driver.jpg
    Driver.jpg
    89.3 KB · Views: 101