• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

My Family Cage build thread (FINAL PICS PAGE-4)

xcntrk

Bronco Guru
Loc.
NOVA
Hey all, I wanted to start a single thread sharing my experiences along the way in building a family cage for my EB. I'll continue to update this thread with progress as I have it. Hopefully some find this thread useful as they plan their own cage build or are on the fence about doing it themselves. I'm no expert or professional fabricator; just your average enthusiast with a mechanical inclination and enjoy working on projects...

I started off with the need for roll-over protection. That then expanded into the need for secure 3pt seatbelt mounting (front & rear seats), which then expanded into the need for seat bracket and mounting support. The answer was a complete cage design that could accommodate a floor structure needed to integrate the seat mounts and to serve as the seatbelt anchoring points.

The challenge with these requirements is that none of the pre-fabricated or even weld-together cage kits currently available through the vendors were complete enough to meet my needs. When you take into account the floor structure, every seat and mount are different, therefore if I were to select a weld-in kit it would only get me about 60% of the way and I would still need to modify it accordingly. This drove me down the custom path...