• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

'74 Busted Fuel Gauge and Blinkers

Jgoforth422

Loc.
Ukiah, California
Hey everyone! Forgive me for my lack of knowledge, but I'm brand new to broncos. I recently purchased a '74 explorer that is in great shape and runs beautiful, but the neither the fuel gauge or the blinkers work. Now, it pains me to say this, but I know almost nothing about vehicles, so I don't have the first clue where to start. Any help on what steps I should take or where to begin would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

suthernboy

Loc.
Greenville, NC
Welcome, lotta good electrical guys on here. I'll get you started....

Do you have dual tanks? If so, does the fuel gauge not work for either?

Do your flashers work? Do the indicator lights on the gauge cluster blink?

70_Steve

Old Guy
Hey everyone! Forgive me for my lack of knowledge, but I'm brand new to broncos. I recently purchased a '74 explorer that is in great shape and runs beautiful, but the neither the fuel gauge or the blinkers work. Now, it pains me to say this, but I know almost nothing about vehicles, so I don't have the first clue where to start. Any help on what steps I should take or where to begin would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
HI Jgoforth422, and welcome to ClassicBroncos.com! And congrats on the new-to-you 74!

For the blinkers, start with the fuse block. There should be a 14 amp fuse that supplies power to the (stock) radio, windshield washer pump, backup lights and the blinkers.