• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Best Dana 44 Ball Joints?

tacobronco

What are people's experiences with various ball joint brands for the Dana 44?

I have been running Moog Problem Solvers for several years. They are great, seem well-built, and are greasable, which I like. They've survived several years of moderate trail work on a heavy Bronco without showing any detectable wear. However, I'm about to install a set of new knuckles (Reid Racing), and I am leery of using the Moog Problem Solvers because one of their features is that the bodies are heavily knurled where they press into the knuckle. That's great for a used, 50-year old knuckle with wallered-out holes, but probably not ideal for a brand-new knuckle. (I am concerned it may overly distort/damage the new knuckles.)

I know everyone raves about genuine Dana Spicer ball joints, but when I assembled the current set-up, I ordered a set of those first and was unimpressed with the quality. Honestly, they looked like off-shore knock-offs. Moreover, they were not greasable. I ended up returning them and installing the Moogs instead.

Yukon sells their own brand of Dana 44 ball joints (P/N YSPBJ-011), which aren't cheap, but I can't tell if they are anything special, or if they are just parts-store components re-branded as Yukon. Anyone have experience with these?

Dynatrac has what appears to be truly heavier-duty ball joints for many applications, but they have no listings for classic Dana 44 applications.

Any other thoughts?

englewoodcowboy

Lick Creek Restorations