• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

gas mileage with OD

blue 74

Throwing this out to the community to see if this sounds right. I have a 74 with a strong 302. The motor came with the truck and the seller said it had a cam but could not give me any other details. I have been driving it regularly for two years with no power loss (unless I go to high elevations)or engine issues. It has a Holly 570 street dominator carb (not a fan but it works well so why mess with it) Mallory distributor, OD trans, 3.50 gears and BFG 33" tires.

I do a lot of freeway driving and the truck seems to like to be at 70mph. At 70 the tac reads 2100 rpm. My OD gear does not kick in till I am going approximately 65mph and the tac is reading 2600 - 2700 rpm. I am able to keep it in OD when going up most freeway grades, but if I drop below 50-55 it will automatically kick down. It seems like no matter how I drive it I get about 11mpg everywhere. In the city or on the freeway it doesn't seem to matter. Is that normal? It seems like from other threads I should be getting better mileage.

I plan to install a Holley Sniper system in the future (when I can afford it) and my hopes are that it will get a little better gas mileage and perform better at altitude. I was also thinking that I might switch to a 32" tire. Any thoughts?????

bmc69

Contributor
Bronco Guru
11 mpg at 70 is pretty darned good.

blubuckaroo

Grease Monkey
Loc.
Ridgefield WA
If you know the RPM of your maximum torque, and select gear ratio/tire size to put you at that RPM at your expected cruise speed, you'll get your best mileage.

pcf_mark

Bronco Guru