• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Hard starting after heat soak.

jckkys

Bronco Guru
Holleys seen to have more problems than other carbs with heat soak boiling the gas in the float bowls.The only fix that has worked for me is an AFB in the summer. The factory ran tubes from the float bowls to the charcoal canister in the '80s. Does this help? I've tried thick heat insulating carb gaskets and aluminum heat shields.These mods didn't help much.I like Holleys but they don't like summer heat soaks.

broncnaz

Bronco Guru
Must just be a issue with yours I've been running one for 30+ years and have never had a heat soak issue. Even on several different vehicles. To me holley has less chance of heat soak due to the fact that the fuel bowls are pretty much outside the carb so to speak.
The factory lines to the charcoal cannister was only for emissions purposes they didnt want vaoprs emitted into the air.

OP
OP
J

jckkys

Bronco Guru
The tube from the air cleaner to the canister seams to serve the same vapor control purpose. The Holleys I've used all seem to start as if flooded after sitting hot for 10-15min. on a hot day. The float bowls are empty after sitting over night in the summer. In cool weather the problem goes away.The AFB works much better in heat soak situations. I'm happy to hear your Holley doesn't have this problem but that knowledge won't help me. Can anyone tell me how to trouble shoot this problem?
I would be surprised to find Ford equipped new vehicles with heat insulating carb gaskets and heat shields for no reason. The bean counters wouldn't allow it.

broncnaz

Bronco Guru