• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Hobart welders. Which one should I buy?

supp64

Loc.
Lone Jack
I am ordering a welder this weekend so that I can finally start the sheet metal work on my bronco. I have zero experience welding and I am asking for the advice from the experienced welders on here which welder I should buy. Right now I am looking at two different Hobart welders the first is the handler 140 mig and the second is the handler 187. I know that they are similar but the 187 needs A different outlet to power it. My garage has a separate fuse box so would it be difficult to put in a outlet or would it just be better for me to buy the 140? Thank you for any advice you can give me.

Explorer

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Raphine, Virginia
The 140 will do everything you'll likely need to do. If you happen to have a Tractor Supply store near you, it would be a good place to buy one without paying shipping. If power source is your only concern, not price, I would buy a MillerMatic 211 that runs on 110 or 220. You may have 220 some day.

Bronco Brian

Bronco Guru
I am the last person to give welding advice But a 220V welder will be better in the long run for you. 110V will work for sheet metal up to 10 gage and a little bigger. But the 22V will work out better for you when you want to do suspension work/frame welding

needabronco

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Prescott/Farmington
I disagree, a 110V welder will do almost everything needed on a Bronco.
110V welders can be turned down low enough to weld sheet metal much better than 95% of the 220V machines. 110 machines can also be used anywhere.