• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Butt welds with Hobart mig

Bronco Sully

Loc.
Houston
I have a Hobart 140 mig welder. I am new to welding and have been practicing butt welding on multiple pieces with some success but not getting full penetration between the two pieces (this is for a patch panel in the kick panel for some rust I stumbled across while doing the floor pans). To be honest the results i have gotten are probably good enough for what I need but I am irked it's not 'full' mated all the way thru.

I am using 16 gauge mild untreated sheet metal. I wire wheeled all areas that are being welded to get them clean. According to my measurement tool, the kick panel is 16 gauge. I have been tacking around the pieces and waiting for the metal to cool to continue filling the gaps with further tack welds. I have ground down the test pieces and got smooth metal but on the back side there is still an obvious line.

Hobart has various settings (1-5 for power and 10-100 for feed). I have tried 2-4 on power and 20-40 for wire feed. The test pieces fit pretty tight with very small gaps. I am using shield gas as well with .030 wire. New machine so tips etc are new.

Anyone have any tips for this machine or Tips on getting full penetration without warping? Or are my results good enough for a non show truck?

Thanks!

BRONCROB

Bronco Guru
Loc.
WISNER LA.