• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Speedometer abnormality?

Pax84

Just want to know if this is normal, my speedometer is off across the board it seems by 10 mph. When I’m going 10 on my Speedo I’m actually going 20, 5 mph is 15, 20 is 30. I didn’t go much faster than that so I’m not sure about faster speeds, it’s a rebuilt gauge cluster and I just got my Speedo cable problems worked out. My bronco has 4.11s and 33s with a 19 tooth drive gear.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
I’m not really good with the tooth versus tire size ratio thing, but we do have a chart floating around here or somewhere that shows what is appropriate.
But there are also 2 Different size Drive gears inside the different transfer cases on different models.
But yes, in answer your question, otherwise it is fairly normal for our speedometers to be off by quite a bit after tire changes.
These things had 28 inch tall tires when they first came from the factory, so the 33 is a big change.
Are you running a tire rated at 33 inches on the sidewall? Or are you running a metric tire that actually measures 33 inches?
There’s another difference right there.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
The MPH difference should be a percentage. Not a specific miles per hour over all points.
You may have something else going on here besides mismatched gears.
And one tooth difference won’t net you a 10mph difference at 15 mph.

Did you test this multiple times? And how did you verify exact speed? Another vehicle, or GPS?

OP
OP
Pax84

Pax84