• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

timing question for those running estreet efi video added

m_m70

Contributor
Loc.
Pacifica, CA
I was having issues with setting this system up and getting a decent idle. Called the edelbrock tech line and we changed the map and it's better. I know it needs time to "self learn" but one of the things the tech had me do was bump the base timing to 18btc. My question is if that is what you guys had to do to smooth things out? Seems a bit much but I have no experience with any EFI systems. It does give me the highest vacuum reading @ 19.2 at idle but I don't want to destroy my motor either%).
Thanks for any response....

Last edited:

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
I've run mine that high in the past (with carburetor) and not had any real trouble. But you could hear it ping under load, so I ran it back down to 14 instead.
But on other engines I've had, 18 was the norm. So it depends on the engine. Usually our Fords don't need that much, but given the EFI and the much finer fuel control it's got, you might be able to get away with the few extra degrees of advance without any detrimental results.

What's your target AFR? Seems to me they have you set it fairly rich? If that's the case, then extra timing is probably helpful, and the extra fuel can "sort of" compensate for what would normally be a higher-than-needed advance.

let us know how it works.

Paul

OP
OP
m_m70

m_m70

Contributor
Loc.
Pacifica, CA
Hey Paul,