• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

302 1977 Sport Nearly stock is bucking/hesitating at low rpm

irclausen

Loc.
Bothell, WA
Whew where to start.

I've had this bronco for 17 years it was my first vehicle at 15 years old and have never had any major issues.

1977 Bronco Sport uncut and as far as I know stock.

302 engine with as far as I know the original carb (confirmed motorcraft 2150)

I'm a novice mechanic with a lot of interest in this vehicle.

Recently the bronco has started "bucking" at low rpms (like I have to press really hard on the brake, and she really wants to go). Upon releasing the brake it's pretty anti-climactic. If I hit the gas there is plenty of power, but when on the brake it feels like she really wants to go.

There is a lot of history in 17 years happy to share but will start with most recent changes:

Running terrible, messed with the carb mixture screws and idle (likely a bad first choice)

Then did/replaced the following:

-Seafoamed
-Spark plugs and cables
-Ignition Coil
-Ignition Control Module (ran much better after this likely combo of plugs and ICM)
-Removed totally rusted and leaking muffler and replace with a cherry bomb (thrush).
-Bought a vacuum gauge to try and tune the carb (started at 1.5 turns out on mixture screws and 700rpm, tweaked for max vacuum)
-Suspect vacuum leak on the choke pull down (waiting for part to replace)
-Removed choke pull down and plugged line

Still experiencing the "bucking", looking for suggestion on fixing.

jrwyant

Contributor
Sounds like a good start. What else did you check for vacuum leaks? Brake booster, distributor, transmission vacuum modulator, EGR?

jckkys

Bronco Guru