• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

5.0l swap...utilize its steering pump?

19Bronco66

Loc.
SLC
I am swapping in a 5.0l and adding a dana 44 front axle and adding power steering to turn 35" tires. Can I use the power steering pump that is on the 5.0l? Its from an '89 Lincoln LSC.

SaddleUp

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Vancouver, WA
Yes, however expect it to be noisy. The one I've been using for the last 2 1/2 years is a stock 90 Crown Vic one which runs both the steering and hydroboost brakes. It is a bit on the noisy side though and I plan to put a saginaw pump in as soon as I have all of the brackets.

OP
OP

19Bronco66

Loc.
SLC
Well crap, noisey is a relative term... I just wonder if it will drive me crazy. This will be my daily driver.

ransil

Bronco Guru
I'm using a '92 mustang pump, No noise at all, with a front locker and bound up on rocks it sometimes does not turn.
Should not be a problem with a daily driver.

Broncorm

Loc.
Perkinsville, VT
If you've got it use it until it makes too much noise then switch to the saginaw. Mines almost ready for the saginaw.

Last edited:

RajinCajun

Bronco Guru
Loc.
HawleyTX, La orig.
I am using one from an 87 F150 and it works fine for me.. I put a large tranny cooler in the return line to help with heat problems and it has lasted almost a year.. I also plan to do the Saginaw pump later.. I just have two more spare pumps so I will stick with them a little while longer..LOL! I am running a Scout box with 35's and a LS front D44 and it works fine for me..

Projp

19Bronco66 said: