• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

70 Bronco Wont Start After Warm Up

tonytony9

Contributor
Hi Everyone,

Took the Bronco on a few longer drives recently in hottest weather since I purchased; about mid 90's and around 100 miles each way. When I stopped for gas, could not get it to start back up. Not crank whatsoever, although, still had all auxiliary power. Opened the hood, checked my coil ground and positive, checked connection to the distributer, and let it cool for about 10 minutes. Then, fired right back up. This is now happening consistently the past four days when hot. On cold start, no issues.

I have limited knowledge on where to start in terms of diagnosis. Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

MEDIA LINK - Click Here

cldonley

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Robinson, TX
Have you been on longer drives and heated it up and had it start fine? Is your fuel line well clear of the exhaust? Could be vapor locking, but that usually takes more than 10 minutes to clear up. Do you have a spare coil? Maybe take if tor a drive with a known good coil and see if it happens again. Also, just to clarify, when I hear it 'won't crank' I think the starter is not turning the engine over. Sounds like you mean it is turning over (starter is cranking) but the engine isn't firing. Correct?

Slowleak

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Georgia
Next time it does that, look down in the carb and work the throttle lever. You should see a stream of gas shooting into the carb. If you don’t then you know it is a fuel problem. In hot weather you can get a vapor lock, or fuel can evaporate from the carburetor bowl.