• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Anyone swapped an AOD into their EB?

PartnersInCrime

I want to put an AOD transmission in my '72 bronco. I won't be driving it on any "hard-core" trails, and will mostly be commuting with it on those HOT days. My question is this. Is there any difference between an AOD transmission from a car versus one from a 4wd? Also, is there a difference in length compared to a stock trany? I'm new to the game and need as much help as anyone is willing to give!

Thanks in advance!

Socal Tom

Bronco Guru
Loc.
San Diego, CA
Check out the transmission guide in the tech area. Its got the basic info on length pros/cons etc. I am running the 4r70w, which is the electronic verson of the AOD, its also got wide ratio gears. I love it, I've got 4.88 gear and 35 inch tires, it really helps keep the rpms down and make highway driving much more tolerable.
The AOD has some weak points that were addressed later on. Its about an inch and a half longer than the c4 ( with adapters etc). In order to mount it to the stock dana 20 you need an adapter kit that works with either the 2wd or 4x4 version. There is a way to use the 4x4 setup, but you end up with a longer drive train.
Tom

Pa PITT

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
Stephenville TEXAS
I going to say I still feel the AOD is the best one ..if your good at the later electronic then the the 4R70W is a great trans but I still think most just want an old trans with 4 gears ..