• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Auxillary tank overflow

ald7973

Hi all - Newbie here...had my 75 Bronco for about 3 weeks and learning a lot! I live in KC and it's been pretty hot for a few weeks now... important in a moment. Truck has a main and auxiliary tank and I put ~5 gallons in each from a gas can when I took possession (was shipped empty.) Was out driving yesterday when I ran out of gas in the main tank. Tried to switch to auxiliary but it didn't work...not sure why not yet. So put another 5 gallons in the main, and then drove to a gas station to fill to ~11 gallons total in the main tank. Today I drove to a friend's house to watch a game and the truck was parked with the driver side in full sun in 90 degree heat....came outside a couple hours later to the auxiliary tank freely flowing out onto the street from the fill tube/cap....had to be at least a couple gallons. Theoretically there was just 5 gallons in the auxiliary.... obviously it expands in heat, but does this mean I have a bad cap or it isn't venting correctly for it to be streaming out like the cap wasn't even on? I'm not sure what is "supposed" to be happening when things are operating properly....other than not spewing gas of course! I'm read a few other posts about filling the tank slowly....but the aux tank was filled weeks ago so thinking that's not the issue. Thoughts appreciated!

lars

Contributor
Been here awhile
Loc.
NorCal flatlands
A few more details needed. Is your Bronco carbureted or fuel injected? If the former, it's a pretty straightforward system assuming it still uses the stock brass mechanical switching valve located below the drivers seat.