• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Breather hose in front differential?

ProjectBronco70

Loc.
Tennessee
I've had my Bronco for about a year and am currently putting in a 3.5 inch lift. I just noticed that the front breather hose is not attached. It looks like it has not been attached for a while. What does it do and how important is it? I've only had it in 4 wheel drive for about 10 minutes since I've owned it. Also, since I am a newbie what is the proper sequence to put it in 4 wheel drive. I.E. lock the hubs, put the transfer case in 4 wheel hi, low etc. drive in reverse for a 10 feet or so? I guess I have never understood the proper way to put it in 4 wheel drive. Thanks for all your help.

Skiddy

Bronco Guru
you will need your breather hose hooked up, if you cross any water it will let in your differential and oil and water don't mix ;) even might get some in there just from wet roads and puddles.
As far as putting it in 4x4 put it in nuetral, lock hubs, put shifter in correct gear 4 low or 4 high, put in gear take off. when unlocking you just do it the opposite and no you don't have to back up. Sometimes you will have to rock it a little back and forth to get the shifter back in 2 hi.
Hope that helps some
Skiddy

HotWheels

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Twilight Zone