• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

C4 Shifting problem - trans experts help.....

Broncofan76

Loc.
Atlanta
i just bought 1973 EB with a 302 and a C4. It was not shifting at all when I got it (stuck in 3) and I had to manually shift it to get it home. Have since hooked up the kickdown and it now shifts BUT - it revs up really high between gears prior to shifting. I also replaced the modulator and still has these symptoms. Any ideas? I'm not very experienced with trans issues but would like to get my new toy on the road and mechanically sound so can start the endless list of upgrades and repairs I have in mind!
thanks

Viperwolf1

Contributor
electron whisperer
Sticky valves in the valve body and governor. You could try to adjust the front band to minimize the flare between gears but it really sounds like it needs a refresh to me.

OP
OP
Broncofan76

Broncofan76

Loc.
Atlanta
Sticky valves in the valve body and governor. You could try to adjust the front band to minimize the flare between gears but it really sounds like it needs a refresh to me.

okay, dont think it needs a torque converter? just doing some research and hoped this would do it. Is $700 a good price for a rebuild? I have a quote for $400 and one for $700. seems like a big difference. Anything I should look at having done to it while it's out and being rebuilt? Or is it straightforward just build it back the way it is supposed to be built?
thanks!

Greg_B

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Cohutta, GA
You can just about buy a brand new tranmission for that much money. I spent 600 a few years ago and wish I had just bought a new one from Jegs, Summit or one of the many transmission shops on the net and installed it myself.