• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Door Latch Woes - Fixed it!!!

BronCowie

Contributor
Old Timer
Loc.
Vancouver, WA
To start with, I am a body-work rookie.

My drivers door latch quit latching recently, and I'm stumped as to what the cause is. The pics show poor alignment overall but the latching mechanism does line up with the pillar post.

I've had this daily driver over 26 years now and that alignment has always been like this. The latch works fine with the door open, pushing on it with my finger, will not release unless pushing on the door handle button.

Is that post adjustable, inward/outward? What else might be causing this?

Attachments

• 0.jpg
    0.jpg
    38.2 KB · Views: 123
  • 1.jpg
    1.jpg
    53 KB · Views: 110
  • 2.jpg
    2.jpg
    45.5 KB · Views: 120
  • 3.jpg
    3.jpg
    53.6 KB · Views: 103
Last edited:

AZ73

Contributor
Bronco Guru
It looks to me like the bushing on the floorboards have collapsed enough to make the post hang up on the latch. You can try adjusting your post (use a #4 impact phillips to loosen) and add a triangular washer behind it, but you're probably better off replacing the body to frame bushings. If you don't want to do all of them with new, unbolt the 2 on the floorboards and add some large washers to tilt the cowl section up slightly. Else look at your door post and and see if it's got wear marks on the inside top and maybe file it down a little.

OP
OP
BronCowie

BronCowie

Contributor
Old Timer
Loc.
Vancouver, WA
10-4 on the #4 phillips/impact... I tried a #3 with no impact after soaking those with PB Blaster with no budging.