• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Edelbrock 600 cfm or 650 cfm

HyeBronco

Hi everyone, Quick question I have a 68 Bronco with a Ford crate 302 motor that is running an Edelbrock 600 cfm carb. I just got a call from the tuning shop and they have told me the carb has been running lean and something on it is broken so I need to replace it. I am not a very mechanically inclined person so I was wondering if I should replace it with the 650 cfm Edelbrock instead of the 600 thats on there now. Thanks in advance for any of the upside and downside with switching.

bronconut73

Bronco Guru
600 is fine.
What is broken?
All the little pieces are available if you google around a bit.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Agreed. But what crate engine are you running? One of the more powerful ones? If so, maybe a larger carb is called for.
And it's not size alone that creates a lean condition. You can easily re-jet any of the carbs for a richer mixture to compensate.

Even if they're not the best off-road carbs for most, they're one of the most easily tuned and tweaked of all carbs. Jet and needle and spring changes can be done in literally seconds.
Of course, for real twiddling around with the mixture, one of their Track Packs (if they still call them that?) can get VERY EXPENSIVE very quickly. Better to have an idea of where you need to go first. Or sell off the remaining stuff to recoup your expenses.

We should probably have a "Community Track-Pack" around here for Classic members to fiddle with anyway. A few bucks each and one kit could handle a lot of carbs probably.