• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Fresh paint, how long till I can install hoodliner

Qumanchew

Contributor
Loc.
Kutztown PA
I just painted a new fiberglass hood today. How long should I wait to install an adhesive backed hood liner? Does the paint need to cure for awhile? What do you think?

Apogee

Contributor
Bronco Guru
As stated above, it can depend on the paint, how it was applied (thickness, number of coats, flash time between coats, etc) and the environment (temperatures, humidity, etc). In all honesty, I wouldn't apply something like a chemical adhesive to fresh paint for at least 5-10 days out of an abundance of caution, but I'm no expert when it comes to auto body and paint.

OP
OP
Qumanchew

Qumanchew

Contributor
Loc.
Kutztown PA
I'd start by looking at the paint manufacturer's recommendations for dry time, etc.
Dry time is only 16 hours. After that I could be sanding, buffing etc. Even though it's "dry", I thought it could still be off gassing for some time. I could definitely be wrong though as I'm no professional by any stretch. I'm just worried that might affect the adhesion of the liner. If it wasn't the weekend I would call the paint supply house and get there take.

OP
OP
Qumanchew

Qumanchew

Contributor
Loc.
Kutztown PA
As stated above, it can depend on the paint, how it was applied (thickness, number of coats, flash time between coats, etc) and the environment (temperatures, humidity, etc). In all honesty, I wouldn't apply something like a chemical adhesive to fresh paint for at least 5-10 days out of an abundance of caution, but I'm no expert when it comes to auto body and paint.