• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Fusible link help (early Christmas)

Teal68

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
Inlet Beach
Looks like I got an early Christmas gift today.....I'm going to be unwrapping wires! Pretty sure the 16g fusible link burnt today in my 68 with the original wiring harness. I have no power to anything..no cranking, no radio, no lights, no heater fan, nothing!

I limped it home with a jumper wire to the coil and started it with a screwdriver. Any of you that have seen some of my previous post know that I'm not that good with electrical so I am seeking advice. Here goes:
- How close is the fusible link to the positive side of the starter relay?
- Is it a thickened, short portion of wire, or just a length of wire?
- Depending on the answer above how do I repair it? Use an exact same length of 16g fusible link?

Honestly, I don't even know if I'm asking the correct questions! I am going to start peeling back wire tape tomorrow morning to see what I can find.

You advice is much appreciated,
Tyler

bronconut73

Bronco Guru
Mine is close to the relay.
It has a rubber tag on it that says fusible link.

Skiddy

Bronco Guru
Mine is close to the relay.
It has a rubber tag on it that says fusible link.

same here, you can get them at the auto parts stores.
you might want to double check things as why it burnt, a direct short somewhere.
mine was because someone was installing a radio and needed a ground wire. screw went right through the harness under the dash:-[

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru