• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Harmonic Balancer / Pulley line up Problems

Broncojoe1972

Loc.
Toney
I am upgrading from a 170 6 cyl to a 302. I purchased from a pick and pull a 302 from a 1984 Frod Van. I replaced timing chaning/fuel pump, water pump, ect. I replaced the original water pump with a bronco water pump to go with my Bronco Radiator.

I was putting the original harmonic balancer and water pump pulleys on last night and nothing lines up.

So I'm wondering if I can use an early bronco harmonic balancer (3 holes) and pulley? I think the harmonic balancer is causing the problems.

Thanks for any suggestions...

SeaninSt.Cloud

I am not a mechanic, but...

From what I have read the harmonic balancer controls the amount of internal vibrations on your crankshaft and internal parts. If you have the wrong one you may decrease the life of your engine.

I just went through a similar problem with my 302 and I found it was easiest (not easy though) to locate a different pulley. Some pullies have multiple grooves and are different sizes (depths) so they will line up for you. When I finally found one with the right grooves and the right number of holes for the bolts, it allowed my belt to line up. It was actually too "deep" so I had to cut off the outer pulley groove. She runs fine.

I have a Lincoln engine in my Bronco. Before I knew it was a Lincoln I tried to mount the bronco water pump but it did not fit right. So I ordered a water pump for the Lincoln not the Bronco and it worked out.

OP
OP
Broncojoe1972

Broncojoe1972

Loc.
Toney