• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Hobart Handler 210 and Hobart Quality

z70what

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Johnson City
I'm wanting some feedback on the Hobart Handler 210 or 187. I'm a pretty skilled welder, learned from my father (who was an iron worker for 20 yrs) when i was 16 and have been welding and fabricating since (i'm currently 26). The time has come that i'm ready to purchase my own welder for my home. I can MIG and TIG weld, however, i can't really afford a TIG welder right now.

My question is what kind of quality is hobart? I know it's basically a Miller w/ a different case, however I still find that hard to believe. What are you all's experience w/ Hobart? Good or Bad, i want to know.

I've been using Lincoln Electric machines (that's what my dad has down in AL) for some time now, and they are great.

I can pick up the Hobart Handler 210 for ~$800. And, it's a lot of juice in such a small package..

Thanks for your inputs.

Luke

OX1

Bronco Guru
Is that the one on pirates?? I looked at that too. I did find sears and some othes have a 210 hobart "smaller" unit that looks like the size of my 155 Lincoln weldpack. Not sure if the larger units are more "industrialized" (with the same rated amperage, jsut less duty cycle maybe??) or the smaller units just pack that much more of a punch than they used to. The largest lincoln weldpack was just 175, like 2 years ago.

OP
OP
z70what

z70what

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Johnson City