• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Hows this weld? -

Broncofan76

Loc.
Atlanta
I am a relative newb to welding although I did build some sliders that are welded to the chassis and replaced floor pans etc.

I have in my shop a roll cage from extreme custom fab and some custome pieces that i had bent that I would like to install. I have been practicing on scrap for a while in order to become at least competent at welding. Sooooo have I done it? are these welds okay? decent? or bad?

Keep in mind that I will not be building a rock crawler or hard core off road vehicle, nor will these welds ever be instected by any sanctioning body for racing. I would like to have sufficient welds that also look good.

Skiddy? you out there? go easy on me. any advice or tips are welcomed.

thanks in advance

Attachments

• IMG_0854.jpg
    IMG_0854.jpg
    81.8 KB · Views: 318
  • IMG_0853.jpg
    IMG_0853.jpg
    100 KB · Views: 320

Quick & Dirty

Looks don't tell how strong it is. A weld can be pretty, but not have penetration or strength.

Take your samples and torture them. Squish them in a vise. Pound on them with a hammer till something fails. If the weld breaks off, you have more practice to do. If the tube fails before the weld, you're doing ok.

Something along these lines;
test.jpg

BroncKrawler

Loc.
Harrisburg, Oregon