• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Inherited 77 Bronco

jaybird29

Loc.
NC
Newbie here. My wife inherited her father's 77 Bronco (302 auto) that he purchased new. The bronco has not been driven in almost 10 years.

My plan is to replace tank and check fuel lines, replace plugs, rebuild carb, distributor to get it running, then go from there on suspension, etc.

Is the 77 gas tank different than 66-76's?

Please let me know if I missed anything, and any advice is welcome. I plan to restore back to stock.

Also it appears its locked in 4wd Low. The hubs do lock/unlock freely. Since its not running, can I jack up one side to get it out of 4wd Low?

thanks,
Jay

House

Contributor
Minutia Militia
Sounds like a fun project. 10 years isn't too bad. Your tanks should be OK with just
cleaning, but who knows. Try to save as many original parts as possible. Usually the
main plastic fuel lines live fine also, just need replacement of the rubber lines.
It will be much easier to get it out of 4L once you get it moving. Just unlock the hubs
if you want to move it around in 2wd...

66broncoCT

Contributor
Loc.
Torrington, CT
Yes the 77 gas tank is different. I don't think anyone makes reproductions of them. Its plastic so unless it is split at a seam/leaking it should be salvageable. I would dump the gas out toss in about a gallon of fresh gas and a handful of nuts and start shaking. I've only done this with steel tank but should work for plastic as well. Keep rinsing until the stuff that you dump out is clean.