• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

NP435-Reverse light switch???

XT700

Loc.
Brownsville
Still working through the Painless install, adding NP435 at the same time. There is a place next to the shifter for some sort of wiring plug. Is this for the back up lights or some sort of neutral safety switch? If it is for the B/U lights how does it work, is there some sort of external unit? Any help and amybe even a part number would be much appreciated.

Thanks, Walt

griff

Loc.
solvang, ca
I'm pretty sure you just run one wire to the positive and the other to the lights, and that switch provides a break in the circut. You shouldn't need any other parts. I haven't hooked mine up yet though, because i'm a procrastonator.

black pearl

that sounds like the backup lights.i haven't found a plug yet.i just stuck the wires down in and caulked them in.

crawln68

Bronco Guru
Yes, that is for your back up lights. I went to my local you-pull yard and found the plug that plugs into the tranny. Then the painless harness has two wires marked for back up lights. Presto!

Familyman

I've been looking for mine for a while now, and all of the pix sent to me showed a screw-in switch at the bottom drivers' side below the shifter. The reason I couldn't find mine was because I don't have one.....I was on the phone with Tom's and was told that NP435s up to 1966-67 didn't have them. If you need a pic of the location let me know.

Sean (FFMDX)

(Sorry, I'm on FM's computer)

FFMDX

Loc.
Roseville, CA
Familyman said: