• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Polishing oxidized original paint ?

magstar67

Contributor
Loc.
Missouri
I recently bought a metalic blue 75 with original paint that is oxidized. Previous owner or someone has polished a few areas that may have gone a little too far in spots. I’ve tested a few spots just hand rubbing some 3M Perfect It EX Machine Polish on it, which glosses it up but not sure how long it will last long term. My hand rubbed areas also don’t match what they did…I suspect they used a machine to do it. I have a lot of experience with base/clear paint but hardly any with single stage and none with single stage this old.

Polishing done prior to my purchase toward left of pic, my light hand polish starts just to right of mirror area over to door handle. Untouched oxidized paint is below body line.
e6e56fd2b71894edb8847ff4c6b7a9ef.jpg

1ad08c02dabd3a6734de4435248b25da.jpg

f2502011

I recently bought a metalic blue 75 with original paint that is oxidized. Previous owner or someone has polished a few areas that may have gone a little too far in spots. I’ve tested a few spots just hand rubbing some 3M Perfect It EX Machine Polish on it, which glosses it up but not sure how long it will last long term. My hand rubbed areas also don’t match what they did…I suspect they used a machine to do it. I have a lot of experience with base/clear paint but hardly any with single stage and none with single stage this old.

Polishing done prior to my purchase toward left of pic, my light hand polish starts just to right of mirror area over to door handle. Untouched oxidized paint is below body line.
e6e56fd2b71894edb8847ff4c6b7a9ef.jpg

1ad08c02dabd3a6734de4435248b25da.jpg