• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

random question of the day

ljspop

Loc.
San Marcos, Ca
Why is my license plate frame on a hinge? Just curious what the logic behind that part is. I can't think of any other Ford products of this era that share this part - but then again I'm no expert.

Apologies to the old timers if this has been covered a zillion times. I did try a search.

Thanks.

jray

It helps installing the tag and also changing the bulb and other parts relating to the license plate lamp.

casadejohnson

Bronco Alchemist
I used the hinged license plate on my 74 exactly zero times in the 20 odd years I have owned it, It has almost always had the top on it and I never had the need to drive it with the tailgate down. A couple years ago, I got a 66 Roadster with a half cab on it and I use that flip down plate all the time. The bed is so small that you need to flip down the tailgate to carry anything large in it.

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Ford wanted it to be a do-all kind of Utility Vehicle.
Those two holes in your front grille are for a plate too, when you're running around with a snow-plow, winch, or front-mounted auger or other tool, instead of a bumper.
Earlies (up to about '69 or '70?) had the loop and latch so the windshield could stay folded down for use as a work truck, expedition vehicle, hunting rig (when it was legal to shoot from the truck), and probably even with some kind of crane thingy hanging over the front!