• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Voltage Regulator Problem??? Will not run....

LowCountryEB

Loc.
Charleston, SC
Ok. I have changed the battery, alternator, starter, ignition switch and solenoid. My Bronco will crank but will not run. I have volts from the solenoid and coil. I have ran the test. The motor will fire up if I hold the key in the start position but as soon as I let go of the key, it dies. Could this be a voltage regulator problem? What can I try next? I am a newbie to this electrical stuff but just bought a multi meter over the weekend. How exactly do you use this thing? Can you give me some more advice on how to get my baby running??? Thanks........

ransil

Bronco Guru
Ballast resistor bad.
Its buried in the harness coming off the ign switch.

Could be the ign module ( if equiped) find any Ford service manual from 1976-1985 it should have a procedure to test.

OX1

Bronco Guru
Ok. I have changed the battery, alternator, starter, ignition switch and solenoid. My Bronco will crank but will not run. I have volts from the solenoid and coil. I have ran the test. The motor will fire up if I hold the key in the start position but as soon as I let go of the key, it dies. Could this be a voltage regulator problem? What can I try next? I am a newbie to this electrical stuff but just bought a multi meter over the weekend. How exactly do you use this thing? Can you give me some more advice on how to get my baby running??? Thanks........

Still running points or duraspark? Bad pickup in duraspark distrb wil do exactly what you are saying.

A4x4Junky

Loc.
South Jersey
Still running points or duraspark? Bad pickup in duraspark distrb wil do exactly what you are saying.