• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Welding question, stainless steel VS sheet metal, I need info please.

taipeichris

Bronco Guru
Hi,

So I don't know if anyone was following my question thread on needing an vapor seperator/expansion tank or charcoal canister but I'm going to install this system on my 66.

I've made a template tonight to fab the vapor seperator tank out of metal. [Somehow 30 year old plastic exposed to heat and gasoline daily doesn't seem trustworthy.]

I'm still new at welding and I have a 110v Harbor Freight welder.

So my question is, how should I weld stainless steel VS sheet metal?

From what I've seen online, some of the Porsche 944 used a stainless steel tank like our plastic one.

Please respond, I need some advice.
Chris

fungus

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Kaneohe Bay, Oahu
Is your welder setup w/ a bottle & regulator? I've got a 220 machine & used to run a small bottle of 100% argon w/ stainless steel wire. It did ok but TIG really is the best way. Not sure whats on the shelf as far as flux cored wire for stainless if anything at all. It'd be awfully ugly to say the least.

fablife

yup. you'll need the argon for sure to run SS wire. Plus, mig welding thin material can be a PITA. JD

Nightstick

Bronco guy
In addition to what's already been said, go to youtube and search for how to weld sheetmetal type videos. You can't run a continuous bead the length of what you're welding if it's longer than about 1-2". If you try to overdo it you'll blow a hole in it in no time. One video on there shows a guy welding some automotive sheetmetal and a neat trick he used was to blow it with an air compressor right after the weld is done to cool it off.