• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

ZF or AOD...Real World???

NoAZ68

Loc.
Northern AZ
Found a '79(?)AOD out of a Ford car also an '89 ZF put of a 4x4. AOD is rebuilt, ZF he's selling as a core, because it pops out of 2nd and 3rd gear. Both are cheap. Can I use a car AOD in the truck with the adaptor (AA or BC Broncos)? How hard is it to rebuild the ZF? I am a pretty competent mechanic, so I'm not too afraid to try a rebuild. Also, which do you all like in the real world (I want an OD trans), and which is easiest and cheapest to install (will be buying complete adaptor kit). Thanks to all...

bpassmore

Sponsor/Vendor
Loc.
Houston, TX
The AOD rebuild is gonna be cheaper thanthe ZF - I found this out the hard way...

The adapter will work fine on that AOD - make sure your mechanic (or you) uses the newer style pump and valve body in the AOD - makes all the difference)

the parts alone for the ZF are going to be 300 plus for what you described.
The Bearing/ seal kit is 125 (cheapest), and the the snycros are about 35 each (times min or 4), and the 2/3 gear and shaft are going to run you about 250 - the shops around here charge 600 for a complete rebuild minus parts (that is bench time - already out of the truck)

The AOD can be build cheaper and easier - but i boils down to what you want...

I want a ZF so im goign to fight through simialr issues./
what is he asking for a ZF core? $350? around here that is par for one in the condition you described..

OP
OP
N

NoAZ68

Loc.
Northern AZ