• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

How to identify the amount of suspension lift?

Mossie

Loc.
Kalispell, MT
I am a newbie to the EB and was curious how I go about identifying how much of a suspension lift that I have. I have been trying to pick up some Ranchos shocks based on what I was told the lift was and can't seem to get it right.

Is there some simple measurements that I can perform so that I can save some time ordering parts?

I am running 32.5 BFG's and have rolled front fenders on my 1972 Bronco sport.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

Mossie

Miker

Bronco Guru
Welcome to CB. Alot of wicked smart Bronco guys in here. Wish I was one of em' :cool:Can you post up some pics? That will help us give you some sort of idea.

OP
OP
M

Mossie

Loc.
Kalispell, MT
This is one of the few pics I have.

Anything specific I should photograph?

004-1.jpg

OP
OP
M

Mossie

Loc.
Kalispell, MT
Hmmm....7.5"....and stock is 7"? Wow, far short of the advertised amount of lift!

Bigger problem is I have a James Duff Full exhaust with headers arriving Monday and apparently a minimum suspension lift of 2" is needed to clear the driveline without mods.

Not a happy Thursday discovery!!!

DirtDonk

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Well, unless you're going wheeling soon, you could temporarily leave the driveshaft off (blasphemy!) just to get by until you figure it all out.
Then again, since, as we've come to find out, "your results may vary", when it comes to Broncos, your stuff might just work anyway!