• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

How do I determine if my 302 is worth rebuilding? (It wasn't, bought long block)

Vragor

Loc.
Colorado Springs
I have limited wrenching experience. Oil, brakes, belts etc. But never serious motor work.

I have a 70 bronco with a 302. The motor was rebuilt by a good mechanic when I got it in the late 80s. It was rebuilt again in the mid 90s by a questionable mechanic and has been gutless and unreliable eve sincer. It became virtually unusable about 2 years ago. Now it just sits in my garage. FYI, my grandfather bought it new in 70 so it has allot of sentimental value to me.

A daughter recently totalled her car and now drives mine. I'm on my motorcycle for the summer (I really don't mind that so much) but I have to have something before the snows start falling.

Instead of debt and buying something, I want to get the Bronco going.

How can I tell whether the motor is worth rebuilding? How do I go about measuring whether the cylinders have been rebored beyond reason, and what other things should I check?

If I opt to rebuild it, what do you usually keep and reuse, and what do you usually buy new?

My budget will be $2,500

Last edited:

bmc69

Contributor
Bronco Guru
The simplest and quickest 'test' is to simply pull a head off. Then clean off the top of one piston and read the overbore..its stamped right in the middle of the top of the piston. If that numer is already greater than .030...yr done and its time to spend 100-150 bucks for a good core engine instead.

OR...with the budget you are talking about...just buy a complete long-block already assembled from a reputable source and go that way..