• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

302 to 347 upgrade

ryanrock69

Good day,
I searched the forum and didn't see anything on the 302 to 347 upgrade. I have a few questions.

Has anyone done this and if so what are your thoughts?
I want to build the engine before swapping for current 302. Will any 302 block work or do I need to find a specific one?
Will the new block slide into the existing motor mounts, etc or are there under hood modifications?
Any gotcha's I should look out for before starting?

As you can probably tell I'm brand new to this. I did a 352 to 390 swap 30+ years ago with my father but he's not around this time.
I've watched several youtube videos on the process and feel like I have decent handle on the process but it's the parts gathering I'm confused on.
Thanks.

73azbronco

Contributor
Bronco Guru
3347 cubes, man! that will pull. Probably will need a body lift.

Seriously, welcome, I have a stroker, it was a lifelong desire as a mostly retired wrench bender. That said, I highly encourage you to go 351, and or stroke the 351. Cheaper, stronger, easier, lasts longer, maybe. Did I mention cheaper?

If you really want a stroker, buy a crate stroker, built to your desires. If you want to do it, you better have the knowledge, and a really good machinist in your pocket. Ifr you are asking here how to build a stoked block, go buy the crate motor and be miles ahead.

Cost for my stroker was about $7,500, for the longblock. 10 years ago. All the stories of strokers being bad is based on guys building these up on their garage floor and running 1/4 miles, using questionable parts and tech of the day. Modern stroke kits are fine if built properly.