• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

How to get a smog legal 1979 Bronco in CA with a 460 big block?

DR650

I know this may not be the easiest road to tread but I really want a 1978-1979 bronco. There's no other truck thats gonna scratch the itch so here i am trying to understan CA smog law. I've done a fair amount of research but have no hands on expirience with this so i'm a novice. It seems to me it would be a lot easier to smog it with the stock 351 or 400 because they would require less smog equipment since the swapped 460 is gonna require all of the smog equipment from the year of the engine. I'd like a 460 but I think i could be happy with a 400. One of the reasons i'm thinking of a 460 is I really like the value proposition of this truck:

[/URL]

It has new brakes, clean frame, new wiring and seems overall like its in solid shape. I talked to the owner and he said the engine is a built motor the previous owner pulled out of his F350. I know we probably need to know more information about the year of the engine and what mods were done to it to answer with any definiteness but do any of you have a vauge sense of the cost in parts and labor to accomplish getting an engine like that smog legal. I called the owner today and he didn't answer. I will update when he responds.

Also this truck seems like a good deal and, like the previous one, has a built 460 motor:
[/URL]

I'm ok with not buying either of these trucks and finding one with a stock configuration if that's what it takes to get through smog but posts like this make me wonder if its not completly impossible.