• Just a reminder that you won't be able to start new posts or reply to existings posts in the Archive forum.

This is where all the old posts go so they can still be used for reference and searched.
  • Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Long Term Project - Drove it today!

70EB

Bronco Guru
Loc.
Gig Harbor
Well as many of you have known I have been working on my Bronco since about 1999 with various long breaks (due to Uncle Sam sending me to the desert 4 times) and a couple of required Army moves.

Today was the day. I had recently finished the 351W SEFI and the serp conversion and installed the ZF tranny.

Drove it to the exhaust shop today to fix/install my 2 into 1 exhaust with the Magnaflow muffler. 2.5" in with a 3" out the back at a 45 degree angle. Shop did a great job routing it and it has a nice mello rumble at idle and opens up a little when i get on it. $154 out the door. (I had the muffler already - exhaust shop is also not a fan of flangless headers:-[ )

Spent about an hour driving it around at various speeds up to 60 mph. No issues and it even tracked fairly straight even though I have not had it aligned yet (later this week). Temp never got above 175 and oil pressure was good. ZF was not even as loud as I had expected.

Next items on the list are:

- Alignment
- New gears!!! 3.50 + 33s + ZF = no usable 5th gear and slow off the line. Looking for a used 4.56 third to hold me over until I can get both F/R setup with gears/lockers. $$$ have to take a break.
- Fun stuff. Saddleup top (replace the Fastrack top), stereo, install my NickTrixs summer doors (take off the inserts and Galen soft doors).
- Chip for the motor (based on input from Crawln68)