• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Must have tools for a Noob

dsrtrat

Hi all! Got a question for all you knowledgeable folks. Go easy on me as I am completely new to the hobby. I have done some very basic work on previous vehicles like changing CV axels out of Toyota corolla, changed a-arms/coilovers/CV axels on my Ford Ranger, Installed and wired multiple light bars and switches etc.

I have a 1973 Bronco that is in good shape overall. I do have a lot more work to get started on though. Obviously to do this requires tools. I have some basic tools but my garage is pretty sad and I borrow a lot of tools from my dad to do work on other cars. I’m trying to compile a list of tools that I can start adding to my collection that are must haves for working on my bronco. It’s really kinda embarrassing the lack of tools I have. I don’t even have an air compressor 😔. I really only have a couple full sets of all size wrenches and socket sets. I’m not a professional mechanic (clearly) so I will not be needing the really high end stuff. I am looking for affordable and reliable. I know some Harbor Freight stuff is fine but overall, not much sold there is of high quality. I’m looking for middle of the road stuff that’ll last a long time. I would like to have all of the tools necessary to fix near anything on the Bronco (minus paint). Here are some things I have identified as what I will need. Recommendations on others is welcome and I would especially appreciate opinions on brands etc. Thanks in advance. I have already learned a lot from this website and am looking forward to getting this Bronco in top shape with my own hands.

-Air compressor and associated drills