• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Should I go with a budget 351w Build or Keep Saving?

Ol'Blue

Contributor
Bronco Guru
I think I need a reality check here guys. I have been saving for a couple years now for a well built motor, something from 351-408 will all the good stuff, mid 400 hp and torque. Far from having enough money to do the build and thinking of lowering my expectations.

I have a chance for the following fresh build within my current budget:

351w mid 90's roller motor
GT40 heads
Comp Cam 35-512-8
Compression 9.5

Very rough estimate is 325hp and 400 ft/lbs once done with air gap intake and long tube headers.

Question is, will I feel a big difference from my current non roller mid 70's mostly stock 302 or should I keep saving for the more fun motor?

I guess if the new 351 isn't enough, I could always add a nice set of heads later.

good info, C4, 35" tires regeard to 4:30s. Mostly street driven with rocks and dunes from time to time.

thanks,

Broncobowsher

Total hack
I think you should feel a noted power improvement over a 302.
But I am only seeing about half of what your goals are. You know what you want, this engine is only halfway there.
Unless the current engine is dead and you need something right now, I would pass and keep putting together what you really want.

nvrstuk

Contributor
Just a Bronco driver for over 50 yrs!
Your dream... will you always be doubting your choice to not build the powerplant of your choice?? :)

If that's the case then maybe keep driving what you got.