• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Starting 1966 U13 Bronco Rebuild

adeberge

Loc.
St.Louis, MO
Hello all! I'm new to the page and I have lots of questions about a build project that I'm contemplating. I've had a 1966 U13 with a 6 cylinder engine for about 12 years that I've decided to breathe new life into. The truck has been sitting and decaying most of the last 12 years. Here is a link to a youtube video that I posted that shows the bronco and I discuss a little about my thoughts for it along with some dialogue about me. I don't know much about auto mechanics and was looking for some help defining the direction I should take it.

Link:(I hope this link works)
https://youtu.be/8EY156ScbpM

After watching the video and understanding my situation, I'm looking for input about 2 things to start:

1. Keep the straight 6 or swap in a V8.
2. I've been approached by a colleague of my wife who has offered me a 1990 Ford Bronco with 302 HO with a new process 435 4 speed cast iron transmission. It has 80,000 miles and a granny lower gear. He is offering the whole truck to my for free. Is this something that would be useful to me? Would I be able to use any other systems- ie Disc brakes, power steering, accessories???

I'm planning on removing the body and refinishing, blasting and painting the frame, rewiring, reworking front and back suspension with stock components, redoing fuel and brake systems and adding a 1" body lift. I'll add oversized tires but nothing crazy. The truck will be used for cruising around town in fair weather only. It will see virtually no interstates, or off-roading.