• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

Steering issues on 74 Sport (need help)

Luckie1127

Contributor
Loc.
Greenville South Carolina
Hey guys, I need some help, if possible. Purchased a 74 Ford sport and here's a little about it.
2.5" lift and 2" body
302 Auto with a 4R70 Trans
Running 33/12.50/15 MT's
Just replaced the Adjustable steering linkage and still drives awful. Steering is super sensitive and honestly not much play in the wheel. I've not driven it over 35-40 as it doesn't feel safe. So I don't think its the steering box. I'm no mechanic but have a couple friends helping me with everything. I do have an adjustable track bar on order, when it's released from backorder I'll install it as well.
Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Brian

phred

Contributor
Bronco Guru
Loc.
Earth
Can you give some more info on what specifically is the issue. The short wheel base on these trucks makes the steering feel “quick”. If you are used to modern cars or trucks with variable ratio steering it takes some getting used to.
Does the truck wander or hunt?
Does it have death wobble?

67sport

Contributor
Loc.
Vancouver Island, Canada
phred beat me to it....

The starting point will be to provide info/pictures of your front end, taken from the front, parallel to your front axle. Does it have dropped pitman arm, track bar drop bracket or riser, etc. pictures will help to figure it out.
We need to know if drag link and tie rod are parallel to each other, the angle of them is less important. To post pictures you need to be a contributor ($12 /year and it helps the site) or use a 3rd party hosting service.
Condition of tires, alignment, and more all affect handling, and can be figured out.