• Welcome to ClassicBroncos! - You are currently viewing the forums as a GUEST. To take advantage of all the site features, please take a moment to register. It's fast, simple and absolutely free. So please join our community today!
    If you have problems registering or can't log into your account, please contact Admin.

1975 Ford Bronco wont start

sbowenjr

Hi guys. Thanks in advance for the help.
I have a survivor 1975 ford bronco. Last week I started it. It ran for about five minutes then died. I recranked it and it would try n fire then die. Now it just cranks but no signs of spark at all.
I do not believe I am getting any fire to the plugs.
It does have the green ignition module witch I believe is a duraspark 1???
I replaced that and checked the wires and cap visually. I ohmed out the coil.
Primary winding is 1.7 OHMs secondary is 75K. My points look ok to me but I am no expert.
Does anyone have any ideas. I do know how to use a meter but I am not a mechanic.
It is getting fuel B T W.I turned on the switch. With. The switch on but not turning it to crank position should I have any power to the positive side of the coil? Or does it just get power when cranking? I do not see a condenser on mine just a small coil under the cap at the top of the distributor. Any help would be appreciated. I hate just swapping out parts.

Last edited:
OP
OP
S

sbowenjr

Huh talk about a needle in a haystack. The cord gromet that goes through the distributor housing had a broken ground wire. I cut it put and grounded it to the vacuum booster on the distributor. Bronco runs great now.

pcf_mark

Bronco Guru
Wow you did get lucky. Enjoy - you are one step closer to a mechanic.

Skiddy

Bronco Guru
dang why can't I get that lucky to find something that quick

sprdv1

Contributor
REBEL